

NZ Workplace Health & Safety Awards 2024: finalists announced

AUCKLAND, New Zealand, 8 May 2024

The finalists in the New Zealand Workplace Health and Safety Awards for 2024 have been decided. The winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the Viaduct Events Centre in Auckland on 18 June.

The awards are organised by Thomson Reuters, publisher of Safeguard magazine, and proudly supported by WorkSafe New Zealand and ACC.

Lifetime Achievement awards will be presented to long-time health and safety practitioners John Skudder and Mike Massaar for their early adoption and influential championing of new thinking and methods.

Since their inception in 2005 the awards have become established as the annual highlight for everyone involved in the prevention of work injury and ill-health.

Peter Bateman, Safeguard editor and convenor of the five-person judging panel, says this year's more than 180 entries demonstrate that even in challenging economic times, an encouraging number of organisations remain willing to explore innovative ways to better protect their people and, by doing so, help to create more productive work.

"The judges devote many hours to evaluate each award entry. It's a huge amount of work but it is so rewarding, as we learn about all the inspirational work being done by dedicated people in all kinds of organisations. The judges acknowledge the efforts of all entrants and we congratulate everyone who made it through to be a finalist in the face of some stiff competition."

The category finalists, in alphabetic order within category, are:

SAFETY (sponsored by Dentons)

- Downer New Zealand
- Omexom
- PAK'nSAVE Royal Oak
- Traffic Safe NZ

HEALTH (sponsored by Southern Cross Healthcare)

- AW Fraser
- C3
- Fletcher Building
- Port of Auckland & WellMe

WELLBEING (sponsored by Vitae)

- Contact Energy
- Xero
- Z Energy

ENGAGEMENT (sponsored by NZ Safety Blackwoods)

- Air New Zealand
- March Cato
- NZ Post
- Waka Kotahi NZTA

INNOVATION (sponsored by Anthony Harper)

- Auckland Council
- Auckland Transport & Beca
- KiwiRail
- Reveal

SAFETY-II (sponsored by HSE Global)

- Connetics
- Contact Energy
- EastPack
- Martinus Rail NZ

COLLABORATION (sponsored by IMPAC)

- C3
- March Cato
- Marlborough Roads
- McConnell Dowell & Fulton Hogan Joint Venture

GOVERNANCE (sponsored by Simpson Grierson)

- NZ Police
- NZ Post
- Woolworths New Zealand

LEADERSHIP (sponsored by ACC)

- CHASNZ
- Government Health and Safety Lead
- Ngāi Tahu Tourism
- Port Health and Safety Leadership Group

PRACTITIONER (sponsored by NZISM)

- Deborah Pitout, ASB
- Kurt Maxwell, Watercare
- Matt Sadgrove, Delta
- Miriska Gerber, Douglas Pharmaceuticals

EMERGING PRACTITIONER (sponsored by edenfx HSE recruitment)

- Daniel Beavis, Pan Pac Forest Products
- Fern Harper, Naylor Love
- Kate Poole, Waka Kotahi NZTA
- Victoria Bouton, Connetics (ex Silver Fern Farms)

REPRESENTATIVE (sponsored by Vero Liability)

- Kim Downie, Hato Hone St John
- Mathew Bennie, KiwiRail
- Matthew Walker, Ngāi Tahu Holdings
- Sophie Fromont, Air New Zealand

MENTAL HEALTH CHAMPION (sponsored by Site Safe)

- Ben Lockie, Hato Hone St John
- Brendon Hutchinson, Hato Hone St John
- Josh Darby, FENZ
- Kayne Aitken, Aurecon

LEADER (sponsored by Business Leaders' Health & Safety Forum)

- Adam Cato, March Cato
- Gavin Hudson, C3
- Kim Ballinger, AsureQuality
- Ryan Cavanagh, Timberlands

SPECIAL COMMENDATION AWARD (sponsored by ecoPortal)

One special commendation award will be announced at the gala dinner.

LIFETIME ACHIEVEMENT (sponsored by Woolworths New Zealand)

Lifetime achievement awards will be presented to:

- John Skudder, formerly of Meridian Energy, for pioneering and championing new approaches including Safety-II, learning teams and e-learning.
- Mike Massaar, who recently retired from the Department of Conservation, for championing a detailed and formalised approach to critical risk and advocating for some difficult decisions flowing from that.

The WorkSafe New Zealand/ACC best overall contribution to improving workplace health and safety in New Zealand

This award will be made to one of the winners of the organisational categories.

Contact

Peter Bateman, Safeguard editor

Phone: 021 028 40182 or email peter.bateman@thomsonreuters.com

To book tickets for the gala dinner: www.safeguard.co.nz/awards